If you are a woman seeking reproductive health care in Colorado it is your right to have a safe, legal abortion. Unfortunately, 87% of Colorado counties do not have an abortion provider.
Colorado is one of the few states where a late abortion can be obtained. Outpatient abortion is available up to 26 weeks. In addition, medically indicated termination of pregnancy up to 34 weeks is also an option for conditions such as fetal anomalies, genetic disorder, fetal demise and/or or severe medical problems.
You should expect to receive a full explanation of an abortion procedure and all potential complications before agreeing to it.
Only a medical provider licensed by the state using acceptable medical procedures may perform an abortion.
The state’s “bubble bill” should protect you from harassment outside an abortion clinic. A person who approaches within eight feet of another person without his/her consent within 100 feet of a health care facility or knowingly impedes another person’s entry or exit from a health care facility, commits a misdemeanor under Colorado state law.
If you are under the age of eighteen, you have the right to access confidential family planning services.
If you are under the age of eighteen (and not emancipated), you must first notify at least one parent before obtaining an abortion. If you don’t want to notify a parent, you can try to obtain a waiver from a judge.
There are no spousal consent laws in Colorado. A woman may obtain an abortion without permission and/or knowledge from her spouse.
There is no mandatory waiting period before being able to obtain an abortion.
State medical insurance (Medicaid) will pay for abortions in the following circumstances:
- The procedure is necessary to preserve the life of a woman endangered by a physical disorder, physical injury, physical illness or psychiatric condition,
- The pregnancy is the result of rape or incest, and/or;
- The procedure is medically necessary because it represents a serious and substantial threat to the woman’s life if the pregnancy continues to term.
In Colorado, private insurance companies are not required to cover abortion. Health insurance plans that cover prescription medication must provide the same coverage for contraception.
In Colorado, state employees’ insurance policies will not cover abortion, except when it is necessary to preserve the woman’s life.